Search This Blog

Friday, 9 May 2014


This is Keith Moray’s third crime novel featuring Inspector Torquil McKinnon on West Uist. You don’t need to read the earlier books to appreciate this one.

For such a small isolated place, West Uist certainly has more than its fair share of wrongdoing and death! St Mary Mead and Cabot Cove are almost idyllic in comparison. Although there are quite a few deaths, there is no graphic gore.

The book starts with a double suicide then switches to the arrival of the Daisy Institute, a cult-like group who have bought Dunshiffin Castle in preparation for celebrating the summer solstice. Apparently, the esoteric markings on the ancient Hoolish Stones are significant and the cult leader will reveal all at the solstice. Not surprisingly, the group is not popular, particularly since several islanders have been recruited to their number. 

As if this wasn’t enough, Sergeant Lorna Golspie has been sent to the island to investigate McKinnon’s running of the police station. All of the characters are intriguing or amusing – whether that’s the Padre, the newspaper editor, Annie the dog-lover, constable McPhee or the station sergeant, Morag. You certainly want to make their acquaintance again – by the end of the book, they’re like old friends!

The writing style is engaging too; Keith Moray definitely has a way with words. One example: ‘… he wondered whether instead of clues and fish suppers there might just be a red herring or two in the latest edition.’

An enjoyable crime novel.


Keith Moray is the penname of Keith Souter, a prolific author writing in four genres. He is a part-time doctor and medical writer.

As Keith Souter he writes YA historicals featuring a young lad called Jack Moon in Victorian times. He also writes adult historical novels featuring Sir Richard Lee and Hubert of Loxley.

As Clay More, he writes westerns – see my blog ‘Is there a doctor in the house?’ yesterday where his latest creation is plugged, Dr Marcus Quigley, dentist, bounty hunter and gambler.

And of course as Keith Moray he writes crime novels featuring Inspector Torquil McKinnon; there are five in the series so far, the latest is Death in Transit (2013).






David Cranmer said...

Inspector Torquil McKinnon! Now that's a damn fine character name.

Nik said...

It is, David. A name to conjure with indeed!